Kgalagadi District

Kgalagadi District

Kgalagadi District is found in southwest Botswana and lies along the country's border with Namibia and South Africa. Kgalagadi means land of the thirst.

The Kgalagadi District covers 84 percent of Botswana’s land area and is extremely rich in natural resources. Its landscape appears as grassy plains dotted with low shrubs and trees, which stand on sandy ridges, so the district is often misinterpreted as a barren desert with vegetation-less, useless land to many people.

Desert animals, such as springbok, gemsbok, eland and the Kalahari lion, are found in great numbers in the Kgalagadi District as they are adapted to its semi-arid conditions and can live without water.

The Kgalagadi is the largest continuous area of sand on earth and borders nine African countries. The Sub-districts of Kgalagadi are Hukuntsi and Tshabong, Tshabong being the largest settlement in the district.

Kgalagadi South is made up of the following villages:

Bogogobo, Bokspits, Bray, Gachibana, Khisa, Khuis, Khwawa, Kokotsha, Kolonkwane, Makopong, Maleshe, Maralaleng, Maubelo,Middlepits, Omaweneno, Phepheng (Draaihoek), Rapples Pan, Struizendam, Tshabong, Vaalhoek, Werda

Kgalagadi North is made up of the following villages:

Hukuntsi, Hunhukwe, Inalegolo, Kang, Lehututu, Lokgwabe, Make, Monong, Ncaang, Ngwatle, Phuduhudu, Tshane, Ukwi, Zutswa

The administrative center of the district is Tshabong.